Components of Blood

Components of blood include:

Red blood cells are biconcave discs 7.8μm in diameter, edge thickness of 2.5μm, and central thickness of 0.8μm.

White blood cells or leukocytes:

Both types of WBCs have non-specific azurophilic granules, which contain myeloperoxidase, lysosomal acid hydrolase, and defensins. They destroy parasites.

Platelets or Thrombocytes are very small cell fragments that are non-nucleated. They are 2-4μm in diameter and formed in the bone marrow from the cytoplasm of megakaryocytes. Number in circulating blood random from 150,000-400,000/μL. Circulating platelets have a life space of 10 days. Their main function is hemostasis. The cytoplasm is divided into two zones: Platelets are involved with blood clot formation. Fibrinogen is converted to fibrin, and red blood cells are trapped in the fibrin forming a hemostatic plug.